Golf At Its Best

Arguably, the most coveted palm in professional golf is the donation of the green jacket to the winner at the Master’s Event. This time the event will be held April 3-9 and, as always, will be at Augusta National Golf Club in the beautiful state of Georgia. It’s an event that has evolved since its morning in 1934. The Masters-a vision of golf at its stylish and most competitive- began with Bobby Jones and Clifford Roberts and continues moment.


Golf At Its Best

Over time, the course has experienced advancements and this time is no exception. Changes will be made on 6 holes. To play, a golfer has to meet at least one of 17 conditions for participation, which in the end creates a competitive field unmatched by any other golf event. This time an aggregate of 99 golfers will share in the event, which includes 57 US and 42 transnational players. Five amateurs will be sharing. Of the 99 golfers, 14 will be playing the Augusta course for the first time.

The usual notables will be in attendance, still, the Masters frequently feature surprise advance performances from those who are lower known. The qualifying rounds are on the first 2 days. The top 44 players of the group will go to the final round and after it’s all over, the 24 top finishers are automatically invited back for the coming time’s competition.

The Masters is as rich in history as it’s in a gift. In 1934, when the first Augusta National Invitation Tournament was held at Augusta National Golf Club, Bobby Jones had just finished overseeing the completion of the course with the help of Dr. Alister Mackenzie as the course mastermind. It was renamed the Master’s Golf Event in 1938.

The original event also featured its first playoff, which was won by Horton Smith. In 1935, Gene Sarazen and Craig Wood tied and also went on to battle through a whopping 36- hole playoff with Sarazen winning by five strokes. 1942 saw Byron Nelson earn a one-stroke palm over Ben Hogan in a shorter18- hole playoff. Other great players who have won the event include Henry Picard (1938), Ralph Guldahl (1939), Jimmy Demaret (1940), Herman Keiser (1946), Sam Snead (1949), and Ben Hogan (1951, 1953).

During World War II, the Augusta grounds were used to raise cattle and clunkers for war trouble. Arnold Palmer showed up in the 1950s and began his successful run of 50 straight appearances, which ended in 2004. It was also that a new generation rose to replace the men who had come legends, including Palmer ( multiple winners), Jack Nicklaus ( multiple winners), Gay Brewer (1967), Gary Player (1961, 1974), Billy Casper (1970) and Raymond Floyd (1976).

There have been some intriguing golf mileposts over the 72- time tradition of the Master’s Golf Event. In 1936, Horton Smith came the first 2- time winner, and three generations latterly in 1999, Jose Maria Olazabal ended up being the 14th multiple winners. The first four-time winner was Arnold Palmer, only to be outgunned by the only six-time winner, Jack Nicklaus, in 1986. At the age of 36, Nicklaus’ last palm made him the oldest Masters champion.

More lately, the green jacket went to the youthful man to win the event-Tiger Woods, who indented the smallest 72- hole aggregate in the history of the contest while creating the largest winning periphery. Gary Player was the first transnational player to win the Masters. In 2003, Canadian Mike Weir came the first player from his country to prevail at Augusta as well as the first left-handed player ever to admit the green jacket. In 2004, Phil Mickelson won the event with a birdie on the last hole to join 3 other titleholders who had done the same.

The green jacket is the trademark of the Masters and its color represents the beauty of rich, healthy turf. It was first awarded to Sam Snead after his palm in 1949. Members began wearing them in 1937. They’re in no way removed from the club and those members who work on the event are appertained to as”The Green Jackets.” Also, the men who wear this special hallmark are considered part of golf’s nobility, and indeed though some don’t play as well as others, they all partake in their love and fidelity for the sport.

Firstly, golf was considered a sport substantially for the fat until the common man’s general, Dwight. Eisenhower came to a member in 1948. When he came chairman, it was converted into a great pastime for the middle- class. Once been many times, there has been contestation over the addition of women in the event, which is a subject that remains open for debate.

Like every sport, golf has its superstitions too. The Masters carries the curse of the Par-3 Contest. Sam Snead was the first winner of this mini-tournament in 1960. Since the perpetration of this competition, no one has ever won the Masters and the Par-3 contest at the same time. This so-called curse has continued 45 times.

So what can we anticipate in 2006? Seven days of golf’s finest players fighting for top honors on one of golf’s most beautiful and grueling courses. Each of the nobility 99 will be pursuing their dream of wearing the triumphant and emblematic green jacket of the Masters.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.